Nijo-jo is a ruin of a castle in the Edo Period in Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto-shi Nijo street. Tokugawa Ieyasu built in 1603 and Tokugawa Iemitsu enlarged. It’ll be the present scale in 1626. A trench is turned round to about 500 meters of east and west and about 400 meters of north and south.
Building in a Ninomaru palace and the inner painting on fusuma.The great hall where Tokugawa Yoshinobu declared the Restoration of the Imperial rule can be seen.There is go round style garden of the Momoyama style in Nijo-jo Ninomaru, and an inner citadel also has a Western style inner citadel garden, and history can be enjoyed.
When saying Nijo-jo, a cherry tree is famous. Umebayashi at early spring, an azalea in early summer, an azalea, a droop Japanese pagoda tree in summer and the autumnal tints of the autumn.
It was registered with world-class cultural property in December, 1994.
Address: Nijojocho 541, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto-shi, Kyoto (GoogleMap)